Posted by: myjourneyintofitnessandmore | October 14, 2012

Negativity Sabotages My Motivation

I’ve decided that I will no longer sabotage my own motivation by telling myself that I am too slow or too fat and that nothing will help me in this process. I have also decided that I will not deal with negativity in my life and this includes negative people (even family) who only want to tell me I am not worthy of this journey. I am choosing my happiness over everything else and I am going to be proud of everything that I do and every step that I take in this journey.

I posted on FB on Friday that, “Negativity only sabotages my motivation. Negativity will no longer be tolerated in my neck of the woods.” This may sound harsh but was really only targeted at a few people who can’t be happy for me and the fact that I want to lose some of this weight I have put on. If they don’t want to “get their heads out of their asses” then I don’t need to have them in my life. This is toxic to my journey and while I work through this and the reason(s) why I have never been at a normal weight I need support not someone telling me I can’t do it. Those who tell me I can’t do this and that I won’t be successful on this journey will be cut out like a cancerous tumor because that’s how I see you!

With that being said, I do have a wonderful group of friends and family that are very supportive of the journey that I have chosen to take at this point in my life. I can count on them for motivation when I need it and to be happy for all of my successes (even the little ones), like my 1/2 lb weight loss last week. This group of supporters also includes a very special group of women in MLFC. If I hadn’t found this group of very supportive and motivational women I’m sure I would still be sitting on the couch, eating some shitty food, feeling sorry for myself, and telling myself that I’m not good enough to lose weight.

I will close out my first post by saying Thank you. Thank you to everyone who has supported me in this journey so far. Thank you to the people who will come into my life and be part of that support system. A HUGE thank you to my dad and second family for their endless support, not just in this journey but in everything I’ve decided to do in my life. I know that you may not always agree with the decisions that I’ve made but you all love me unconditionally and that means the world to me.

The last and final thank you goes to my wonderful husband. I know that you love me the way that I am and I truly do appreciate that but I need to do this for me and our future children and I’m lucky that you are ultra supportive of this. I promise I will make myself and everyone that is supporting me on this journey proud. I am determined to do this through hard work and though I may waiver from time-to-time I will reach my goal. This is my promise to myself.

Responses

  1. I love you and am glad that I get to watch and hopefully help you on this journey. I am so proud of you and you can do anything you set your mind to!

  2. I am sorry you’ve had some people around that aren’t supportive. You have the right idea to cut them out and keep on movin! It’s a wonderful thing that you are doing this for yourself and your future family. Keep your eye on the prize 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

